Knitting Obsenities

I won’t lie, I have a bit of a potty mouth. Somewhere along the way during university, my mouth became filthier and filthier, and especially once I met my husband, it became downright sailor-like. When I phrase it that way, it sounds like my husband’s behaviour causes me to swear at him, when really I mean he provokes it and thinks it’s hilarious. In certain situations or with certain people, I will definitely tone it down quite a bit, keeping up a posh and polite exterior. So when I decided to knit the Fuck It Hat for someone for Christmas, needless to say, a few people were surprised – and became even more surprised when I said I planned on knitting one for myself as well.

IMG_2249[1]

The Fuck It Hat is an awesome pattern – super easy and simple – and after starting last night, I’m already almost 3/4 of the way through the chart. I highly do suggest though that you follow the pro tip in the pattern and add a marker between chart repeats. I followed the pattern’s advice as well and am using Cascade 220, which is always a favourite of mine.

But you might be thinking, “wait a minute, she said she was already done all her Christmas knitting?? LIAR!” Yeah, I thought I was done too. Don’t you love those last minute project gophers that hop out at you saying, “HEY KNIT FOR ME!!” Yup.

So not only did I have a Fuck It Hat gopher leap at me, I also had one for a Jason’s Cashmere Hat , also in Cascade 220. I had really wanted to do this hat in something shiny like the pattern calls for, but the person I’m knitting this for really isn’t the shiny type. Sad.

I’m only about an inch in on the ribbing for this pattern so far so I can’t say much about it, but I am very excited to see how it goes.

I’m pretty sure that Kyle is jealous of both hat patterns and wishes I was making him at least one of them, especially after he told me if the Fuck It Hat recipient didn’t like it, he’d just take it for himself. And, of course, we all know that the cats are just in it for the yarn.

IMG_2248[1]

Knitting Obsenities

One thought on “Knitting Obsenities

Leave a Reply

