Tuesday Bluesday

Pretty much, I keep forgetting it’s Tuesday and then all of a sudden it hits me like a bunch of bricks and all I can think is, “oh fuck, it’s only Tuesday.”

Really, I shouldn’t complain because I’ve only got 2 days left of work until another (!!!) vacation. Whaaaaaaaat! I know. But hold on.

Firstly:

I finished my Skedaddle socks! I didn’t get them done over Christmas as I planned but pretty darn close. I promise that the back cables look a lot better than that one picture makes them look. I love them and have already worn them to work. It was my first time in a loooong time doing swirl toes rather than my standard “wedge” toe and I don’t know why I don’t do them more often! They’re so cute!

Secondly:

IMG_2313

CasuCowl is done (but not done in the picture)! I just haven’t blocked it yet – something which I keep wavering on. A little nagging piece of my heart keeps trying to tell me if I block it the yak will object, which I know is crazy….but might also be keeping me from blocking it just yet. I’ll probably tackle it finally when I get back from vacay.

 

Thirdly:

IMG_2411

And they say knitters don’t like receiving knit presents! My cousin and fellow knitter knit me a hat for Christmas in Malabrigo Mecha, pattern unknown. The next day while sporting the hat at Happenstance in Lakefield, the lady asked if I had knit my hat. Without thinking, I replied, “Why yes, I did!” to which my cousin burst out, “No you didn’t, I did!” Oops! This is what happens when you knit all your own accessories and never receive.

Fourthly(!): I’m super excited to be going on vacation next week because I’ll finally be going to Universal Studio’s Harry Potter World (AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!) not only with darling Husband but also with darling best friend and her husband! Oh life, you’re so wonderful. To completely bring out my inner nerd, I’ve cast on a pair of The Deputy Headmistress’s Socks  by Erica Lueder in a darker shade of Gryffindor red (the colourway is technically called Red Maple) by Zen Garden in their Serenity 20 sock. The lady I bought it from in Aberdeen seemed slightly shocked when I even hinted that I might cast on socks with it as it has some cashmere in it. Well, lady from Aberdeen, it also has nylon in it, which to me means HEIGH HO FEET!

So yeah, I’m excited for that.

I’ve also started a couple other projects lately: Tanis Lavallee’s I Heart Aran in my go-to Cascade 220 in what I’ve been calling “fawn”. This is a pretty unusual colour choice for me. I love colour and bright or deep colours and usually stay away from the neutrals quite often. But I knew that I wanted a cozy pullover in something neutral that would go with anything and everything.

IMG_2431

The second is the creatively titled 210-16 Cabled Vest by Pierrot that I’m knitting in Indigo Dragonfly’s Superbaa in the colourway “Daleks Don’t Give Out Pink Slips”, AKA golden mustard. I mostly bought this yarn because a) I love yellow, and b) I’m a sucker for Doctor Who references. This pattern, although super quick to knit (I finished the two fronts within 24 hours) it was definitely a challenge for it as it’s a Japanese pattern and therefore very visual rather than written out. But maybe that deserves it’s own post soon, yes?

And finally I also cast on The Hubby Hat  by Anna Johanna for, you guessed it, the hubby who desired a new hat to go running in. For this, I’m using leftover Quince & Co. Chickadee from my #SherlockLives Cardi and a brand new skein of Sweet Georgia sport in “Sea Spray”. I’m thinking this will make a great travel project as it’s completely stockinette and taking me forever. Yeesh.

Tuesday Bluesday

Leave a Reply

