The Squishiness That is Baby Knits

Have I ever talked about how much I love baby knits? Because I do. One part of me thinks it’s ridiculous to spend so much time on an article of clothing that may not get worn very often (or at all), and another part of me just wants to throw as much knitted cuteness as I can at every baby.

lazy daisies

This was a spur of the moment knit (seriously, I knit this bad boy within a couple days). The Lazy Daisies Sweater by Anna & Heidi Pickles; I’ve knit the matching turban before, which is equally, if not more, adorable, and wanted to give the sweater a go since I’ve got lots of half balls of DK and sport weight yarn. Spoiler surprise! The blue Drops Alpakka yarn I thought was DK was actually sport weight! Whoops! Luckily it matched gauge so who cares. I also used some of my leftover Indigo Dragonfly “Daleks Don’t Give Out Pink Slips” and white Woolly. Of course, I overestimated how much of the Drops Alpakka I had, but I personally like the striped effect going on. I would definitely knit this pattern again as the daisy stitch is addicting and has so many colour opportunities.

And for those of you wondering, yes, this is ending up in my own personal stash of completed baby knits, but no, I’m not pregnant. However, I do have a couple friends who are and they’re the reason I’ve been thrown into a baby knitting kick. This cardi just happened to be too cute for me to bear to part with 😉

I’ve also cast on a Garter Stitch Baby Kimono by Joji Locatelli for one of those friends with a fingering yarn I bought at Never Not Knitting in Port Perry, Ontario specially dyed only for that store in a beautiful grey colourway called “Scucog’s October Skies” which I thought was only fitting for my friend as she is due in October. So far the yarn is beautiful and the garter stitch is beautiful (something about garter stitch in fingering weight makes me all dreamy-like) but holy smokes is it a long knit for a baby sweater – mostly because it’s a wrap-around and not your traditional cardigan.

And I still have at least two other baby knits I’m itching to cast on for. I’ll admit I’m going a little bit overboard for these soon-to-be babes. Remember how I said about throwing as many knits as I can at babies? Yup, in that phase right now. Oh dear me.

In non-baby knits news, I’ve completed one of the sleeves for Husband’s cardigan and started the second. Hurrah for me! If I can bust through the second sleeve before April gets here, I’ll be a happy knitter and the best wife ever.

The Squishiness That is Baby Knits

One thought on “The Squishiness That is Baby Knits

Leave a comment