Two Left Feet

It’s been almost a week since I cast on for a pair of “Soul Socks” but I have to tell you, my soul must have been in need because I finished the first one within a day of casting on.

IMG_3098

I’m so pleasantly pleased and happy with my first “original pattern”. However, there are some members of the family who don’t seem to truly appreciate my skill….or knitting photo shoots.

IMG_3100

How rude.

IMG_3102

Regardless, the sock fits my foot to a tee, which is great. I always get a little bit nervous with after-thought heels that they may not be going in the right place. I was 98% sure based on trying on the sock, but to double-check I measured the length of my foot to the ball of my heel, then measured to the same length on the sole of the (flattened) sock and picked up stitches there for the afterthought heel. And you know what? It was perfect.

In other footy news, a new baby has joined our clan, a wee little boy who has joined a gaggle of girls and whom I unfortunately won’t get to snuggle until June (boo-urns). But to celebrate, I whipped up a pair of Purl Soho’s Baby Moccasins because,well, c’mon. Look how cute they are:

IMG_3097
Knit in scraps of Cascade 220, and Berroco Vintage. I misread the pattern and thought it called for worsted, not sport weight, but they still seem to essentially come out to gauge!

Poor husband had to deal with me waving them around at him last night as each step got completed, cooing over how tiny and precious they were (how could I not?!). And now I’m determined to make many pairs of these for all my other expecting friends. They legitimately took me maybe an hour to make a set, including the duplicate stitch and end weaving in.

A pro tip though for anyone wanting to make these: do the duplicate stitch once the tops are done, rather than at the end. These things are appropriately tiny, and even with MY tiny hands, I don’t know if I’d be able to wrangle duplicate stitch on these once the bottoms are complete.

Two Left Feet

3 thoughts on “Two Left Feet

Leave a Reply

