May 2-4

If you’re from Ontario,the phrase “May 2-4 Weekend” in commonplace (unless you’re my grandfather, that is. Yeesh.) and I had to learn the hard way when I moved to Alberta that if you refer to the May Long Weekend as “May 2-4” you will be laughed at. It’s true. Calgarians can be cruel.

Anyways, this last May 2-4 weekend, although very rainy and cold, did not stop the adventures.

IMG_3221

With a couple of friends we trekked down to the Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation in Lethbridge, a sanctuary for hurt or abandoned birds, where you can feed ducks and hissy mama geese, hang out with some eagles, falcons, and my favourite – owls. We each could hold one of their owls who have imprinted on humans (key to owl-holding), and got to hang out with a unnamed owl baby who hangs out in the gift shop who I dubbed Harry Potter.

In actual knitting news, I finished my Boxy sweater! Wooo! It’s currently pinned and drying as I type.

IMG_3225

I’m hoping that it stays a little bit on the cooler side this week, just long enough for me to wear this constantly. I’m excited to see how it fits after blocking, because when I tried it on pre-block, it was a little bit short for my liking (like an inch-ish) but then again it’s supposed to be a little bit on the short side and I have a penchant for long sweaters.

The Mechita though…oh, the Mechita! I want more of it in ALL THE COLOURS. I actually ended up with about 1 full skein and a quarter leftover from this (WOO!) and now I’m debating what it should become. A shawl? A baby sweater? A hat? So many options.

May 2-4

4 thoughts on “May 2-4

  1. LT says:

    First, the sweater is phenomenal!!

    Second, I can’t believe May 2-4 isn’t a commonplace name for the weekend – do they just call it Victoria Day (which is, I guess, its proper name…)?

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      And yeah, I know right? My old co-workers literally laughed at me when I called it May 2-4. Generally people call it “the May Long Weekend” or “Victoria Day Weekend,” which is sooooo boring!

      Like

      1. LT says:

        I now wonder why we started calling it the May 2-4? Short form for the 24th, or does it truly derive from the case of beer 2-4? I truly hope it’s the former…

        Like

Leave a Reply

