Just A Real Life Miley Cyrus Song

Do you remember that Miley Cyrus song We Can’t Stop? If you don’t, here’s a memory jogger for you, a la Miley, Jimmy Fallon and the Roots doing an a cappella version of it rather than the whack-a-doodle original music video.

And that’s how I feel right now. I just can’t stop.

Last week I just got tired of everything I was working on. I think it’s because the heat started steadily climbing as the week went on and the idea of sweaters and socks and things that you wear in the winter time just really made me feel really hot. I couldn’t work on them. I couldn’t swaddle myself in them as they grew. I couldn’t proudly prance around in them once they were done – they would be destined for my closet or drawers until the weather plunged again. Plus almost all of them involve looking at patterns a lot. I didn’t want to think. I just wanted to knit coolly. So I did the only thing I thought was reasonable: I wound up a skein of Ancient Arts Fibre BFL sock in Three Valley Gap and cast on a Reyna shawl.

Yup, another new project. I told you: I can’t stop.

13266741_194580687603496_965512416_n_medium2
Three Valley Gap – super bright and dreamy, and for some reason makes me think of unicorns.

Sadly, I don’t have a picture of Reyna so far – I just finished the third band of meshing – and had planned on taking a picture of it over the weekend, except, well, things happened. Like Husband breaking his wrist happened and us waiting at urgent care until 3:30am happened. Yeah.

Anyways, so far Reyna is a great pattern: I’m loving the combination of garter and the mesh – and it’s already memorized within two rows. The only time I’ve had to truly look at the pattern is to remember the stitch count for the final rows of each section – and even then I’ve found a short-cut for the mesh parts (it’s that each mesh section doubles, shhhh). I’m excited to see how this turns out in the end.

 

Just A Real Life Miley Cyrus Song

Leave a Reply

