The Longest Week of the Year

This week has been….long…to say the least. Half of it was spent thinking it was the next day followed by utter desolation that, no, it’s not Wednesday, it’s only Tuesday. Dear lord, why. And so now that it is finally Friday, I’m extra, incredibly happy and excited, and impatient for the work day to come to an end.

The heat wave has also finally broken (hallelujah!) and this morning was positively chilly, and making me wish I had worn more than a lacy shrug. (This is why you always keep spare knits in the car!)

But then also this week, I was reminded that very soon is my grandmother’s birthday; this realisation also came while I was wearing a beautifully crocheted vest she gave me for Christmas and so all I could think was I must make her something beautiful. While discussing this with my cousin who also knits, who has decided a sweater is the only way to go, the brat, I unfortunately don’t have the extra time she does. So instead I decided to go with the next best thing: a Forest Park Cowl by Liz Abinanthe. This knit has been on my queue for awhile. I love cowls, and since my grandmother, apparently, doesn’t like shawls because she doesn’t want to be compared to wizened babas (AKA Ukrainian grandmothers) with kerchiefs on their heads, a cowl seemed like the perfect compromise.img_3353_1__medium2

Pair it with Malabrigo Rios in Reflecting Pool and you’ve got a dream. So much so that I’m pretty sure that I’m eventually going to have to make one for myself.

I am also caved and bought some Berroco Modern Cotton for another project…but I won’t get into that now because I already feel like a failure and saying, “NO! NO MORE YARN! NO MORE PROJECTS UNTIL YOU’VE FINISHED AT LEAST ONE.”

Ah, who am I kidding? What knitter has ever been able to follow through on that? No one, that’s who.

The other new project is Lake Diamond by Kristin Jones, and will, surprisingly, be my first summer knit. No wait, that’s a lie. It’ll be my second. But still.

img_0037_medium2

The pattern calls for bulky weight cotton, but I’m using the worsted Modern Cotton and doubling up. It seems to be working quite well so far – my gauge is a wee bit off, but if my calculations are correct the new gauge will actually work better for me than the recommended.

The only time math is useful: knitting.

The Longest Week of the Year

Leave a Reply

