One of Those Days

It’s one of those days where something just doesn’t feel right and so to comfort myself, I’ve been carrying around a couple of skeins for inspiration.

img_1377
L-R: 2 mini-skeins of Hedgehog Fibres Sock Minis in Pollen and a mystery skein that I’m pretty sure is Cry Baby, a skein of Soper Creek Yarn exclusive worsted, and a frogged ball of Brooklyn Tweed Loft in Meterorite.

There is something infinitely comforting about having soft, squishy yarn you can cuddle when frustration takes over; especially when you discover your usual blocking area is currently occupied and so your one prominent knitting project is at a standstill until you can go to your grandmother’s to use her floor.

img_1350
the prominent knitting project in question: Migration knit in Ambrosia Yarns Woolen

It is quite possible that my entire bad mood today is based on the fact that I’m SO CLOSE to finishing Migration  but can’t until it’s blocked out. On top of that, the buttons I ordered for it arrived today. Why must you mock me, cruel fate?

So I’m contenting myself by finding the perfect project to make me feel happy again – which will probably be a baby knit – until I can finish off Migration.

On a less complainy note, I spent Sunday at Needles in the Hay and finally got a chance to flip through the newest Pom Pom magazine, and was super happy to find this illustration done by my talented cousin included with one of the articles!

img_1317

It’s so wonderful when crafting worlds collide in the most unsuspecting ways. If you like the illustration, then I highly suggest heading over to Elena’s blog/shop, Elena’s Treehouse, and checking out more of her stuff.

And then finally, this:

img_1316This is Aviara in her full glory up at Needles in the Hay. What a proud momma moment I had. I love the sweetgeorgia superwash sport – I have to admit that even after knitting this, every time I went by I had to have a touch!

Ok, I will admit: now I feel a little bit better.

One of Those Days

One thought on “One of Those Days

  1. Big Keep Calm Knit On Fan says:

    This is the best knitting blog on the web! If you’re not already following Keep Calm, Knit On then you’re either delusional, insane, or possibly both.

    Like

Leave a Reply

