I Haven’t Actually Knit Since When!?

Yup. I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve just realized that even though I’ve dragged project bags around with me to various places and rooms around the house, I haven’t actually done any work on them since, oh, Thursday.

I think this is one of the longest times I’ve gone without knitting. Except I’m pretty sure I know why I’m kicking my feet a wee bit when it comes to finishing up a couple projects.

One is sleeves.

Playdate1
The body of a Playdate cardigan knit in Neighborhood Fiber Co. Studio Sock in Thomas Circle with the edgings knit with Hedgehog Fibres’ Sock in Pollen

I’ve noticed that I notoriously dislike knitting sleeves. I don’t do too badly when they are knit separately, but for some reason when they are knit from the body, I always stall. Which is weird to me because I highly dislike seaming shoulder caps to bodies. ‘Tis a mystery, which will probably never be explained.

The other reason is lace.

Heartfelt1

What lace, you may be asking. It’s there, I promise.

Heartfelt2

This muddled pile of lace is the start of Heartfelt  from Interpretations Vol. 3 by Veera Välimäki (& Joji Locatelli) and is being knit from the freshly frogged madelinetosh 80/10/10 fingering I had been using for a Be Kind shawl from the same book. Now, don’t get me this wrong, this lace has actually been pretty pleasant to knit, the real problem is that the pattern is digital, which means every time I want to work on it I have to drag my laptop around because it’s my only electronic thing that I can also zoom in and properly keep track of what row I’m on. I’ve just printed off a legit paper copy and will be using my handy dandy row tracker to help me keep track from now on. Oh, the knitting location possibilities now!

In non-knitting exciting news, which have also probably been contributing to my lack of knitting is that a) I’ve hit the third trimester mark! Whaaaaaat!

IMG_1990

And then on top of this exhausting milestone is that we’ve finally bought a house! Woo! We are very excited and I’ve been obsessed with pinning home decor and paint ideas (I’ve almost got Husband convinced to let me use the spare bedroom closet as a yarn closet!), and I’m just so happy this little one will actually have a real nursery to be brought home to rather than a dark basement, no matter how many cozy knits surround him in said basement.

 

I Haven’t Actually Knit Since When!?

3 thoughts on “I Haven’t Actually Knit Since When!?

  1. Congrats on the new home! We are waiting for our new home to finish being built, maybe 40 days to move in!!! 4th home, 2nd build. Now it is our turn to downsize since our girls are in college. But still have enough room to house them during summers or when they are in transition. Life, it comes fast!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

