Yesterday I took Miles to one of my favourite places in the whole world: my cousin’s shop, Needles in the Hay.  And while he may have been more concerned about getting in another feed and poop before we headed home, I loaded up. 

I even managed to cast on and get an inch or so in when we got home. 


This is the start of a Lovely Ribbed Cowl from Purl Soho – something nice and easy that can easily be picked up and put down as often as a crying newborn dictates – being knit in The Fibre Co.’s Luma (in the Willow colourway). I am so in love with this yarn so far; it’s a combination of wool, cotton, linen and silk and just feels cool yet warm all at the same time. I’m not usually a huge linen or cotton fan; I rarely knit with them although I do love the idea of them, but this yarn seems to be the best of both fibre worlds for me. It makes me wish I were knitting a drapey sweater that I know could be worn all year round. 


On top of the Luma, I grabbed (from left to right): Dovestone DK in Chevin, Dovestone Natural Aran in Armley, 2 skeins of Shibui Drift in Brownstone, and the Grasslands Saskatchewan colourway of Fleece Artist’s National Parks collection for the 150th anniversary. 

I’ve never worked with any of these yarns before (just oohed and aahed and squished wishingly) and am SO EXCITED! Squeeeeeeee!!

What’s the latest yarn you’ve gotten that you’re excited to work with?

2 thoughts on “

  1. All so lovely! I get excited just to get new yarn, it doesn’t matter what it is! LOL When my daughter was little every time I visited my local quilt shop she pooped. Never failed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

